method

Thanks to our hands-on expertise around visualization challenges and data-heavy projects, we have, over the past six years, developed and refined our own design methodology, which is based on four core principles:

01 

/

   02 

/

   03 

/

   04


We embrace complexity

Complexity is an inherent feature of our world. It should be embraced, not feared or avoided in an effort to simplify things that are naturally rich and multifaceted. Important business and strategic decisions take time and require a deep knowledge of the domain and of the elements at play in a specific context; our goal is to support and facilitate better-informed decisions, not to force a simplification of complex scenarios.

We pursue beauty.

Beauty is not a frill. We know how to engage and motivate people to dig deeper and take time to explore the intricacies of a visual data analysis. We deploy our rigorous methods to achieve the ideal balance between familiar visual motifs and unexpected aesthetics, a powerful combination that leverages studies on perception to trigger curiosity and interest, and creates indelible images in the minds of users.

We don't rely on standards.

Every situation is different, and every challenge brings infinite variables that cannot be reduced to cookie-cutter processes and solutions. We never bend design problems to what a tool can offer out of the box, or to a ready-made solution; we take advantage of standard visual solutions to quickly explore and assess a dataset, but we believe in applying core principles of data visualization when building custom solutions that are specifically designed for each situation.

We know data are not just numbers.

Numbers don’t mean anything by themselves; they don’t exist in a vacuum, but are a placeholder for something else: people, places, ideas, values. We always take into consideration what data stands for, and what it means for the people who will interact with it. We ask ourselves what numbers ultimately represent in a given context, and we build experiences that acknowledge and leverage this knowledge by bringing our users closer to the ideas represented by the quantitative and qualitative aspects of information.

OUR TEAM

Giorgia Lupi

Partner and Design Director

giorgia.lupi@accurat.nyc

Simone Quadri

Managing Partner - Europe

simone.quadri@accurat.it

Gabriele Rossi

Managing Partner - North America

gabriele.rossi@accurat.nyc

Davide Ciuffi

Facility Manager - Planning & Control

davide.ciuffi@accurat.it

Marco Bernardi

Deputy Design Director
and Data Viz Lead

marco.bernardi@accurat.it

Giovanni Marchi

Visual Design Lead

giovanni.marchi@accurat.it

Simone Tolomelli

Digital Product Director
and Analytics Lead

simone.tolomelli@accurat.it

Pietro Guinea Montalvo

Interaction Designer

pietro.guinea@accurat.it

Stefania Guerra

Data Viz Designer

stefania.guerra@accurat.it

Cesare Soldini

Lead Developer

cesare.soldini@accurat.it

Tommaso Renzini

Visual Designer

tommaso.renzini@accurat.it

Giovanni Magni

Data Viz Designer

giovanni.magni@accurat.it

Luca Falasco

Full Stack Developer

luca.falasco@accurat.it

Tommaso Zennaro

Interaction Designer

tommaso.zennaro@accurat.it

Alberto Massa

Full Stack Developer

alberto.massa@accurat.it

Sara Confalonieri

Interaction Designer

sara.confalonieri@accurat.it

Marco Fugaro

Full Stack Developer

marco.fugaro@accurat.it

Luca Mattiazzi

Full Stack Developer

luca.mattiazzi@accurat.it

Alessandro Zotta

Data Viz Designer

alessandro.zotta@accurat.it

Matteo Fabbri

Lead Developer

matteo.fabbri@accurat.it

Elisa Spigai

Interaction Designer

elisa.spigai@accurat.it

Davide Grimoldi

Visual Designer

davide.grimoldi@accurat.it

Gabriele Lippi

Full Stack Developer

gabriele.lippi@accurat.it

Mariano Viola

Lead Developer

mariano.viola@accurat.it

Nicola Guidoboni

Data Viz Designer Intern

nicola.guidoboni@accurat.it

Lorenzo Marchionni

Data Viz Designer Intern

lorenzo.marchionni@accurat.it

Ruggero Castagnola

Full Stack Developer

ruggero.castagnola@accurat.it

Stefano Gallo

Full Stack Developer

stefano.gallo@accurat.it

Andy Peruccon

Visual Designer Intern

andy.peruccon@accurat.it

Marco Mezzadra

Data Viz Designer Intern

marco.mezzadra@accurat.it

Vito Latrofa

Full Stack Developer

vito.latrofa@accurat.it

Ilaria Venturini

Intern Developer

ilaria.venturini@accurat.it

Serena Girardi

Full Stack Developer

serena.girardi@accurat.it

Andrea Titton

Data scientist

andrea.titton@accurat.it

Collaborators

Valerio Pellegrini

Data Viz Designer

Carlo Degaetano

Data Viz Designer

Federica Bardelli

Visual Designer

Paolo Corti

Developer

Jaga Santagostino

Developer

Simone Carella

Developer

Mauro Bianchi

Developer

Andrea Bassan

Motion Graphics

Diego Bernal

Visual Designer